Jorge Alberto Perez: The Artist as Perennial Learner

One of the unexpected advantages about creating RACE AND REVOLUTION is learning more about the contributing artists. JORGE ALBERTO PEREZ shares with us the influence his father has had on his work:

Screen Shot 2016-06-27 at 10.18.16 PM

I grew up in Atlanta in the 70s where my father worked for the Urban League, one of the earliest organizations in the US that advocated specifically for an end to racial segregation and discrimination. As an artist I include subtle references to race in much of my work as an homage to my father who taught me from an early age to have empathy and love for all people regardless of color or religion. Naturally, participating in the exhibition Race and Revolution is an opportunity to learn about the contributions Native and African Americans made during the Revolutionary War and to expand how I express my beliefs visually.

Leave a comment